Tags

,

[DISCLAIMER] This review was written for my previous blog on blogger on 4-11-2014. It has now been moved to my new wordpress site. This cleanser has a pH that I no longer use on my skin. My best friend uses this cleanser and she LOVES it. I just found something else that I like better!

jeju12Before I begin this review, I just want to say that I adore this cleanser. It smells amazing, it’s got a non-toxic ingredient list, and it doesn’t leave my skin dry after I use it.


The main reason I chose to try out this cleanser Jeju volcanic pore cleansing foamwas because I ran out of my Etude House Baking Powder BB Deep Cleansing Foam and my interim cleanser (Trader Joe’s Nourish All-in-One Facial Cleanser) was not working out. I knew that I wanted to try more Innisfree products and I began researching some of their cleansers. The Jeju Volcanic Pore Cleansing Foam jumped out at me because I have HUGE clogged pores on my nose/cheeks and this particular cleanser is targeted at purifying pores. I tried to find some comprehensive reviews and came up short. I did manage to find the ingredients list before I purchased it and it’s free of parabens and dimethicones so I was pretty sure I wouldn’t have any adverse reactions to this cleanser. (I’m also pretty sure this product is 5-free as well)

Ingredient List:
Water, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Myristic Acid, PEG-32, Butylene Glycol, Potassium Hydroxide, Lauric Acid, Hydrated Silica, Lauryl Glucoside, Volcanic Ash (Jeju Scoria), Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Opuntia Coccinellifera Fruit Extract, Orchid Extract, Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract, Glyceryl Stearate, Disodium EDTA, Lauramide DEA, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Mannitol, Silica, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Polyquaternium-7, PEG-100 Stearate, Sodium Benzoate, Fragrance

I have sensitive, combination skin. I don’t really know what happened to my skin type. It used to be hella oily my entire life and now it’s basically normal with slight oiliness and dry when it’s cold.

I’ve been using this cleanser for about three weeks and I haven’t noticed any out of the ordinary blemishes on my skin.

I think this cleanser is suitable for all skin types. My mom has crazy oily skin and she loves this cleanser just as much as I do. It leaves her skin with the right amount of moisture after use, just like it does to my skin.

Moldiv_1397266213869[1]

Packaging: I love the simple packaging of this cleanser. Everyone always talks about the typo on the front where it says “Purify pores and leave skin dull-looking.” I honestly think the dull-looking means that it won’t leave your skin looking oily.

I also went ahead and swatched some of the makeup I use frequently so you can see how the cleanser works. DISCLAIMER: I use an oil cleanser before this to get rid of my makeup so I don’t really care about the effectiveness of the cleanser on makeup, I just feel like this is the best way to show you how the product performs.

Moldiv_1397266702380[1]

The jeju volcanic clusters aren’t abrasive at all. They’re a really gentle exfoliant. They disappear after 10-15 seconds of rubbing the cleanser in.

I only use about a pea-sized amount for my whole face/neck area. (Or sometimes a boba-sized amount) A little goes a LONG way. As you can see, the cleanser really doesn’t lather up that much on it’s own. I personally use a clairisonic knock-off with my cleanser so it lathers up much more when used in combination with a motorized cleansing machine. It does do a very good job of washing off all of the makeup though. I did some furious rubbing to get the eyeliner off but other than that, everything came off pretty easily.

Pros:
– No Parabens/Dimethicones (5-free)
– Amazing Scent
-So gentle, so very very gentle
– Leaves skin soft and supple
– Only need a small amount for whole face
– Shrunk pores in my cheek area
Cons:
– Didn’t do anything for my clogged nose pores
Effectiveness: Now, this cleanser says it’s going to purify pores, and it does. The whole Jeju Volcanic line targets pore cleansing and shrinkage, and I was shocked to notice that the pores on my cheeks are significantly smaller. Before I began using the Jeju Volcanic Pore Cleansing Foam, I would wake up in the morning and be creeped out by the gaping holes on my face. Since I’ve been using it, my cheek pores have been smaller and my face does feel lighter overall. My nose pores are revolting and this cleanser hasn’t done anything for the pores there. I don’t really care though because I wasn’t expecting miracles in the first place.

Would I Purchase it Again: Yes, of course. I plan to have some of this on hand at all times. It smells divine and is gentle, yet effective. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who wants to try out a Korean cleanser.

I purchased mine from the ebay seller iamlove-shop for USD $9.88 + $2.50 for a tracking number. Click here for the direct link. [NOTE 8-16-2015: The price has increased to USD $10.98]
